The parental spelling game never ends

If your a parent or have been around little children your aware of the age old trick of spelling the secret words. As a Mom of five I learned real quick that you can’t just casually blurt out, “hey sweety, we should take the kids to get ice cream.” when you of course value your ear drums. So we learn the spelling game. Then that sentence safely becomes, “hey sweety, we should take the kids to get i…..c…..e…..c…..r…..e…..a…..m.” It really is a wonderful thing. Until of course when they are all old enough that spelling doesn’t do you any good at all then you have to find places to hide to talk about ice cream. Strangely enough by that time your probably just hiding in the bathroom eating the ice cream by yourself anyway so it’s perfect.

With my youngest being nine I’m pretty much done with the spelling game. The only time I really spell anything now is at a child’s request and most of the time I’m not really sure how it’s spelled and have to write it down to see if it “looks right”. (you know you’ve done that) So my spelling game days are over. Well they were till yesterday when I was talking to my family family about something very trivial and I mentioned the word walk in a sentence. Just the word “walk” nothing at all special about it, nothing you have to get excited about, my ears didn’t burst with the screaming but suddenly I noticed that my dog was whining and intent on listening to my every word. His ears were perked up, his tail was wagging he was ready to go on a W……A…..L……K.

I guess the spelling game really never ends.

whywait4life

5 thoughts on “The parental spelling game never ends

  1. ihisatsu says:

    oh so true! l…o…v…e your writing!

  2. whywait4life says:

    Thank you l….o….v….e.

  3. savingzeus says:

    I don’t have children, but I do have dogs and at our house, we are always playing the spelling game. It amazes me how many words our dogs know…. I think they are actually beginning to learn the spelling now for some of these words like…. T…r…e…a…t…s. , W…a…l…k. and B…y…e…b…y…e. I think I may have to start talking in code soon. 🙂 I am a big dog lover and have two dogs of my own, Zeus and Lucky. They are so funny, loving, and snuggly! I love them with all of my heart and soul! I have started a blog for my Rottweiler Zeus called Saving Zeus. He has a rare genetic disorder and we are trying to raise funds for the medical tests and treatment that he desperately needs. Also on my blog, I have funny stories and really cute photos of both of my boys. If you would like to make a donation or share our blog to help us save Zeus, or would just like a laugh after reading a funny story, visit my page. Since I am just getting started on my blog, there will be many more stories to come so check back every once in a while! Visit us at http://www.savingzeus.wordpress.com

    • whywait4life says:

      I thank you for stopping in. While you were typing this I was reading your blog and seen that your Zeus needs help. I understand the financial woes as we just lost a furry member of our family recently that struggled with diabetes. It’s very heartbreaking when you want so badly to be able to help them and get them the best care but everything is so very expensive. I at the time do not have the funds to be able to help you but I have prayers and a facebook. I will post the link to your blog for Zeus and see if we can spread the word.

      Thank you again and give Zeus some extra snuggles from an unknown blogger 🙂

      • savingzeus says:

        Thank you so much for sharing our blog…. That is so sweet! I am sorry you lost one of your loved ones in the past…. It is truly heartbreaking! Prayers are wonderful and thank you for including us in yours!

Post away, I love to hear from readers. Good bad and ugly give it a go.

